Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

An article about the tricky business of cast members dating one another (aka “showmances”); the complications that arise and the affect they have on a production.

San Francisco Theater Pub

Charles Lewis III returns to get romantic.

Taylor_and_Burton_-_Cleopatra

“I want you to lie to me just as sweetly as you know how for the rest of my life.”
– F. Scott Fitzgerald, “The Offshore Pirate”, The Saturday Evening Post (29 May 1920)

I have no problem saying “MacBeth” in a theatre. I never have. I’ve done it in nearly every theatre I’ve performed. It’s just a name, and there’s no sense in fearing a name. It’s also the title of a play and I’ll be damned if I’m scared to say the title of a play – in a theatre, no less! But where I lack a sense of terror of the spoken word, I try to make up for it in a certain level of social grace. Though I have no problem saying it, I recognise that others feel differently. And given that those people are my collaborators, and…

View original post 2,532 more words

