Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In which I encourage people on BOTH SIDES of the “diversity” debate to think beyond mere tokenism.

San Francisco Theater Pub

Charles Lewis III, on long term goals and short term contributions.

teen-movie-token-black-guy-copy

“What is true of creed is no less true of nationality. There is no room in this country for hyphenated Americanism.”
– Theodore Roosevelt, Address to the Knights of Columbus (1915)

Now that the cat’s outta the bag, I thought about following up Meg, Tonya, & Stuart’s recent entry with my own reminiscence about what the ‘Pub has meant to me and what I think will happen when it’s gone. I’m going to hold off on that for three specific reasons: 1 – with a few more months to go, it hasn’t actually ended yet; 2 – I wrote a good-bye piece the first time the ‘Pub “died”, and the new one I’m thinking of shouldn’t be repetitive (which it won’t – I’ve already started it and it’s a bit heartbreaking); and 3 – I’ve also been thinking…

View original post 1,083 more words

