Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In which I take a moment to remember David Bowie, a uniquely theatrical man with whom I shared a birthday.

San Francisco Theater Pub

Charles Lewis on Bowie.

Yes, he was on Soul Train. Yes, he was on Soul Train.

“It’s only forever. Not long at all.”
– David Bowie, “Underground”

It was about this time last year that I wrote an entry about how much I don’t like my birthday. It isn’t for the sake of being dour, nor is it a day when I walk around full of self-pity (self-deprecation, maybe), I just don’t see the big deal of causing a fuss over my waking up another day. I’ll gladly celebrate the birthdays of others because I love when my friends are happy, but I never mention to them when mine comes up.

It’s only rarely that I let the day bog me down with thoughts of mortality – not even I am that morbid. But this past weekend, I found myself unable to escape those thoughts. It was this past weekend that someone with whom I share…

View original post 741 more words

