Tags

, , , , , , , ,

In which I work as a film extra on a high-profile Bay Area film and ponder the stupidity of film’s “Hurry up and wait” methodology.

San Francisco Theater Pub

Charles Lewis III, filling the hours.

Time_Slipping_Away-web copy

“Nothing happens. Nobody comes, nobody goes. It’s awful.”
– Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Two Sundays ago, I was an extra for a film shoot here in SF. Due to non-disclosure agreements we were all required to sign, I’m actually not yet allowed to say which film it is. And yet I’m willing to bet many Bay Area performers – stage and screen – probably got notices to work on it as well. Maybe some of you have even worked a few days on it. In any case, it’s a project I’m certain everyone has heard about, a subject whose work reached far and wide, and I watched a dramatic interpretation of a major pop culture milestone from my late-teens. It wasn’t such a bad day.

Well, I mean, unless you count the fact that I had to spend the night before at a…

View original post 1,035 more words

