Tags

, , , , , , ,

A new piece I wrote for Theater Pub, covering my very first year as part of the SF Fringe Fest.

San Francisco Theater Pub

Charles Lewis III returns to talk about his first time working behind the scenes at the SF Fringe Festival.

Fringe-official Fringe-official

“Clowns are the pegs on which a circus is hung.”
– PT Barnum

We’re always told that first impressions count for a lot; that you can’t make them twice; that they will forever define you in the eyes of the other person, whether they admit it to you or not. So naturally I wanted to make the best impression as a new house manager at SF Fringe. I’ve always been one of those folks who believes that I don’t just represent myself, but also the company whose logo adorns my shirt/name tag/pay stub. I mean, they don’t just give this bright yellow shirt and laminated badge to just anyone, do they?

So as I stood in front of an anxious, impatient audience, I can only imagine what they thought of…

View original post 1,154 more words

